MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD AUGUST 16, 1965

THE STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

The Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in regular session on the 16th day of August, 1965, at the regular meeting place thereof in the Courthouse of Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

W. C. NEWSOME PRESIDENT
LANDON RAMSAY VICE PRESIDENT
HORRIS MORRIS SECRETARY
A. J. LAWS DIRECTOR
D. O. ALDRIDGE DIRECTOR

The President of the Board, Mr. W. C. Newsome, called the meeting to order, declared and quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

Thereupon, the minutes of the preceding meetings held July 19, 1965 & on July 27, 1965 were read and approved unanimously.

The following men from Mount Pleasant, Texas met with the Board:

M. L. Means J. A. Petty
John W. Etheridge Harold J. Smith
C. E. Lee K. W. Kraner

David Brogiotti

Their interest in our lake project was mainly to see if this District would be agreeable to building a lake with the dam site in Titus County close to the Pittsburg Highway, which would put more water in Franklin County than our project and that costs of the dam would be one-third less. There was some discussion of this information, and the Mount Pleasant group was told that if they would bring facts and figures supported

by engineering data to show their information to be true, we would be certainly consider the project. The Mount Pleasant group stated that they would call just as quickly as they had obtained this information and ask for another meeting.

Mr. Horris Morris made the motion that this Board go on record as unanimously favoring the development of Lake Site #1 and stating that we will do everything in our power to see that Lake Site #1 and no other is built. Mr. Landon Ramsay seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 9:30 p. m.

MINUTES APPROVED, this the 20th day of September 1965.

W. C. Newsome President, Board of Directors Franklin County Water District

<u>Landon Ramsay</u> Vice President

A. J. Laws Director

D. O. Aldridge Director

ATTEST:

<u>Horris Morris</u> Secretary, Board of Directors Franklin County Water District Horris Morris Director